The Great Cupcake Debate

This past year, I have become a cupcake connoisseur. And that is ironic seeing as cupcakes are not my favorite dessert, cookies are. (Hence Cookie Tuesdays)But, cupcakes do come in a close second. I mean a mini-cake… with frosting, and fabulous toppings? Please, give me more!

The convenience of Cupcakeries popping up all over the place… I have fallen into the fad. I have a feeling this fad will soon turn into the next Frozen Yogurt shop, but while it lasts, I will take part in this.

Now to say what cupcake is best, that is a challenge that  lies within the cupcake. I prefer a moist cupcake, and just the right cake to frosting ratio. Not too much frosting where, if there is not a glass of water near by, you will surely choke to death, and not too little where the magic of the frosting is lost. This is a difficult ratio to achieve.  And on a personal note, I prefer a fruit flavored frosting…strawberry to be specific.

And thus, I am on a mission, to find my perfect cupcake.

So far, I am pretty loyal to Sprinkles on Walton in Chicago. Though I have had their other cupcakes.. the Strawberry cupcake, I believe, is a little piece of heaven, sent down in pink and whole grain, with a cute little sprinkle on top. My heart does flip-flops just thinking about it.

That being said, I am also open to suggestions. So here-in lies the Great Cupcake Debate:

 What and where is your own little piece of cupcake heaven?

Leave a comment