Life In London- Arrival

By: jac31

Sep 18 2011

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/8.8
Focal Length:5.7mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:KODAK EASYSHARE C182 Digital Camera

A tearful goodbye, a 7 hour flight, and here I am across the pond. What have I done?

This semester, I am attending the University of Westminster through Interstudy, a program I found through months of research.  I will be taking mostly general education credits to fulfill what I need at Columbia as I explore the UK and Europe.

Fun Right?

Yes, also a bit intimidating. Chicago is the Third largest city in the United States with just over two million people. London over 7 million people, and they have added one more until December 17, that’s me!

My arrival was fairly smooth. My first adventure was taking the Heathrow Express to Paddington Station where I was to be picked up. Only a bit of confusion, but I made it through okay. Interstudy sent staff to pick us up and keep us awake through the day to beat the JetLag. We went for lunch in Chinatown and the rest in the program were equally as tired, so I didn’t feel too bad for being a bum. I made it until about 8pm London time, that is about 2pm Chicago time. Then I fell asleep for a really long time.

In day 2 of our London orientation, we traveled to the Tower of London. But not before our morning coffee at a cute café called the Kitchen. definitely a destination I will be traveling to again. We went to a pub for lunch and from there, the students in the program were on their own. I did some shopping for supplies and headed home to connect with people back home. Oh the Joys of Skype!

Over the semester, I should be putting all my updates here. Keep checking back from more!

Leave a comment